At Tha Crossroads…..

I’m at a crossroads in my life….

I am a little scared and confused….pondering the question….what to do??

I love photography….It’s what I want to do…what I want to concentrate in…where all my efforts should lie. I no longer have a steady source of income. It was taken from me and although I was emotionally detached, I was not financially prepared. See, I have been looking for another source of steady income with no success. So now I wonder…shall I take the opportunity that has been placed in front of me to full force combat?? Or should I play it safe and go back to the workforce and continue on the slow and steady path???

Am I good?? Will people want my services?? What if I fail?? What separates me from the hundreds upon hundreds of other photographers out there?? OMGosh!! Where do I even begin to start a business?!!! what if I miss something??!! Questions running through…Super restless…

Although, I’m smart enough to not have a ton of debt (cash is my best friend!!), still, I need to keep a roof over my head. I try to only depend on myself as I have for so long and I don’t want to burden my loved ones with the task of bailing me out. It’s time to be an adult. Time to put up or shut up…clock is tickin’….counting down to the time where I am going to determine whether I am going jump in the pool or just dip my toe….

3 comments

  1. Mark Hersch · June 29, 2011

    Che, we’ve only just met but I see the passion you bring to your photography, both in front of and behind the lens. Pursue your dream with gusto. You may not always regret the paths you choose to follow, but you will always regret the ones you choose not to. Go for it, my friend.

  2. ramiro · June 29, 2011

    wait till you see the albums we talked about, i don’t think it will be hard to get some work, if that’s what people are used too. you be really surprised.

  3. Kurt Crummy · June 30, 2011

    i have been running around all day, trying to get at you from my phone, but I figured that I would just send you this when I finally got home… Annyywhoooo… I think that you summed it up in the last paragraph, put up or shut up… 🙂 I can tell that this is what you want to do and as mentioned above, you can see that the passion for it is in you. Just from meeting you at the WPPA and the way that you were franticly taking notes.. you can just tell when someone “IS” photography or is just taking pictures. I am nobody to say anything about “making it” so to speak, but in my mind I have or I know that I am going to(depending on what kind of mood I am in that day). I stay humble and learn, network, and constantly looking for the angles(which you found a pretty good one the other day 🙂

    As for the what sets you apart from everyone else? I think that you may be able to answer that yourself. The person that always works harder! The person that is always willing to go the extra mile, the person that everywhere you go people see you with your camera and when you dont have it with you they start to ask… Quite possible that they have not even looked at a single picture of mine?? The questions and doubt are what, in my opinion are going to hold you back, just jump in and go get yours. There are people willing to help and looking for help everywhere. There are so many outlets on the web alone just for networking and informational outlets. I honestly have not spent a lot of time looking through your work, but what I have seen looks good. What if you forget something? Taxes?? if that is what you mean.. Worst case situation, you just keep everything documented real well and know where it all is and at the end of the year, figure it out then.. 🙂 There is some free accounting software, like wave.com which I have been using lately skyclerk was another one that I cam across. Also places like http://www.sba.gov (the small biz assoc) have tons of information available for you. Let me now if there is anything that I can do to help you at all, I was helped on my start of what is going to be a great journey and there is nothing better that being able to help someone else if you are able to. Bed time, actually caught up for once.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

